Class Page

Welcome to Year 4

On our year group page, we have important dates for your diaries, information about the Year 4 curriculum and useful websites for both parents and children. 

 
Mrs Bates and Mr Griggs
Getting to Know Year 4

Termly Letter
 Term Dates 2021
 

Half Term: Monday 31st May - Friday 4th June

Monday 14th June  - Mount Batten Outdoor Activity Day 1

Tuesday 15th June - Mount Batten Outdoor Activity Day 2

Tuesday 22nd June - KS2 Sports Day

Wednesday 23rd June - Tempest: Siblings and family photographs

Wednesday 30th June - KS2 Reserve Sports Day

Thursday 1st July - Whole school Tempest photo

Friday 2nd July - Reports go home

Friday 16th July - End of year discos

Tuesday 20th July - Last day of summer term

PE Days
 
This term, your child will have PE on a Friday.  Please can you ensure that your child wears the appropriate kit to school on this day.  Thank you for your support.

Homework in Year 4

 

At the start of each half term, the children will be given a grid containing a broad range of tasks spanning a number of subject areas. The children will choose at least six home learning tasks to complete by the end of each half term.

 

Reading is of utmost importance and should be a priority for home learning. We expect the children to read aloud to an adult for 10-15 minutes at least 5 times a week in order to develop their fluency, give you the opportunity to explain the meaning of new words and to check their understanding through questioning. We strongly recommend that you read to them as much as possible, preferably from a book that they would not necessarily choose or be able to read themselves, to develop their understanding and overall enjoyment of reading. Reading to your child has a huge impact on their progress.

 

We will continue to introduce a new spelling rule every Monday in school and practise it throughout the week. These weekly spellings will be set on Spelling Shed for the children to practise at home and will be tested on the Friday.

 

Times Table Rock Stars will continue to be accessible at all times.

Homework Grids
Support Materials for Learning
E-Safety