Class Page

The Year 5 Class Page

 
A very warm welcome to Year 5 at Elburton.
 
On our year group page we have important dates for your diaries, information about the Year 5 curriculum and useful websites for both parents and children. 
 
Mrs Light, Miss Jones and Mrs Sumner
Home Learning in Year 5
 
 
Reading takes priority over all home learning. We expect the children to read aloud on a daily basis for 10-15 minutes to develop their fluency, give you the opportunity to explain the meaning of new words and  to check their understanding by asking them questions. We strongly recommend that you read to them as much as possible preferably a book that they would not necessarily choose or be able to read themselves to develop their understanding. Reading to your child has a huge impact on their progress - please see links below for recommendations. A My Maths task and TT Rockstars will continue on a weekly basis on alternate weeks.
 
From January you will see that there has been a significant change to the home learning structure. At the start of term the children will come home with a grid showing a broad range of tasks covering across a number of subjects. The children will choose six home learning tasks to complete before February half term. 
 
We will continue to introduce a new spelling rule is every Monday in school and practise it throughout the week. This term we will be going paperless and setting all spellings through Spelling Shed.  This term we will extend the time to consolidate the spelling rule and test the children on the following Monday rather than on a Friday.
Year 5 Calendar
 
Monday 6th January New term starts
Tuesday 7th January 2.15pm Parent Workshop - foundation parents: Early reading, phonics and supporting your child with maths.
Tuesday 14th January Tempest: Class Photos
Friday 17th January 2.30pm Trutex uniform sale - school hall
Friday 14th February Last day of term 3
Tuesday 21st January 3.30 - 4.15pm Parent workshop - F/KS1 focus on supporting your
children with maths
Wednesday 5th Feb 3.30 - 4.15pm Parent workshop - KS2 Supporting your child with maths
Monday 10th Feb 6.00 - 7.00pm Parent workshop - Effective behaviours at Elburton

Monday 24th February New term starts

Wednesday 26th February 3.30pm PTA Second hand clothes sale
Wednesday 26th February PTA: Bags 2 School
Thursday 27th Feb 2.00 - 3.00pm Parent workshop - Phonics and Early Reading KS1 up wards
Monday 2nd March Parent Consultations
Tuesday 3rd March Parent Consultations
Thursday 5th March World Book Day - focus dress up/mufti
Tuesday 10th March 2.00 - 3.00pm Parent workshop - Supporting your child with reading at KS2
Friday 13th March Comic Relief/Sport relief
Friday 13th March PTA Pig Race
Tuesday 17th March 6.00 - 7.00pm Parent workshop - Relationships in the digital age
Friday 20th March PTA Discos
Friday 27th March Last day of term 4
Wednesday 15th April New term starts
Monday 11th May Year 5 Residential

Details for Comic Relief and World Book Day, the events and opportunities for the days/weeks will come out nearer the time. The School Council will be involved in arrangements for Comic Relief at Elburton.
Highlights from Autumn Term 2019
The Year 5 Long Term Curriculum.
Year 5 Letters
Support Materials For Learning Times Tables.
The Year 5 Reading Guide
The Year 5 Vocabulary Builder
Support Materials For Spelling and Grammar (SPaG)
Year 5 Knowledge Organisers
E-Safety
 Useful Websites
 
 
Well-being Support Materials
 

Mrs Ros Light

Year 5 Teacher & Curriculum Lead

rlight@elburton.plymouth.sch.uk

Mrs Lisa Sumner

Year 5 Class Teacher and RE coordinator

lsumner@elburton.plymouth.sch.uk

Miss Natalie Jones

Year 5 Class Teacher & PE Coordinator

njones@elburton.plymouth.sch.uk