Chair - Mrs Anna Clooke  Tel 01752 404489

Haye Road South





Elburton Primary School became part of the Horizon Multi Academy Trust on 1 September 2016.

The Horizon Multi Academy Trust Board is accountable in law for all decisions about its academies. However, the Trust Board have agreed within their Scheme of Delegation that many decisions can and should be delegated to the local governing bodies. 

The local Governing Body will use its detailed knowledge and engagement with Senior Leadership to build an understanding of how the school is led and managed by:

  • Monitoring whether the school is working within agreed policies and is meeting the agreed targets.
  • Managing its finances well
  • Engaging with stakeholders
  • Reporting to the Trust Board

The current Local Governing Body is detailed below.

The Clerk to Governors is:

Mrs Lucy Barrett

The Governors are:

Mrs Anna Clooke - Appointed, Chair

Mrs Carrie Tutte - Appointed, Joint Vice Chair

Mr Keith Smithers - Headteacher

Mrs Carolyn Haynes - Appointed     

Mrs Chantal Churchill - Staff Governor

Mrs Helen Sherriff - Staff

Mr John Senior - Appointed (extended)

Mrs Karyn Marsden-Jones - Parent Governor

Mr Nick Copson - Parent Governor

Mrs Shirley Evel -Appointed



The Governing Body meets 6 times a year. The Personnel Committee meets in the autumn term and when required.

The Headteacher’s performance management is carried out by Mrs Carrie Tutte. 

Governors can be contacted through the school in writing or by email to the Clerk to Governors at


Mrs Anna Clooke, Chair of Governors